Welcome!

Hey everyone! I’m pretty sure only my family is reading this (hi mom and dad), but for those of you who don’t know me, my name is Emma and I’m kind of a policy nerd.

In college I studied the intersection of public policy and inequality. Now, I work to support a team of policy analysts looking at the Federal budget and Federal fiscal policy in D.C.

As some of you may or may not know, a certain reality T.V. star named Donald Trump was recently elected to lead the free world. Like many people, I spent the first couple of days grieving the loss of a hundred years of progress in the fight for equal rights.

I quickly moved from grief to anger at…anyone and everyone; Republicans who had been carefully cultivating nostalgia for a time when White, Christian, straight men had power over the institutions that oppressed women and minorities? Definitely. The media that sensationalized a once-irrelevant Trump to the point that he became a serious contender for the highest office in the land? Yep. A Democratic establishment that ignored public sentiment and instead produced a candidate that, despite being poised, confident, and qualified, embodied the establishment that voters were so wholly rejecting? Absolutely.

I had a brief glimmer of hope when Clinton’s popular vote margin widened and news of “faithless electors” started cropping up, but that was short lived.

A month after the election, I am (finally) past all of that. Am I still angry? Of course. But I’m not hopeless and you shouldn’t be either. Here’s why:

For the next four years, progressives are going to be fighting difficult battles to save what remains of a safety net that supports the health, education, housing, and quality of life for millions of Americans across the country. We’ve suffered a huge blow with the election of Donald Trump and his agenda, but the battles for equality and progress aren’t all lost.

So I’m strapping on my armor. I’ll be posting opportunities that my friends and family (and anyone else who stumbled across this blog) can engage in to have their voices heard in the fights that count. Our ability to influence policy is only as great as our ability to organize.

Let me be clear: this blog isn’t for me to rant about how much I hate Donald Trump or Republican officials. Poverty and equality are not partisan issues. I will post ONLY when there is a chance for us to act on behalf of equal rights and progress, to hold our representatives accountable, and to change the outcome of policy to better our country.

Leave a Reply

